Michael Deane: The Restaurateur

Michael Deane

Michael Deane has revolutionised the eating out scene in Belfast. He has held a Michelin Star for 13 years, the longest ever in Ireland.

He puts his consistent success down to a winning team of 100 professionals working throughout all seven Deane's restaurants, each one of whom takes responsibility for providing the best local food, cooked with flair and imagination  and served to perfection.

"Michael Deane has achieved more than any  other chef in the whole of Ireland and his commitment  is recognised by the many awards won by him personally as well as Deanes Restaurant."

Stephen Scuffell, Chairman of Judges Craft Guild of Chefs UK Restaurant Chef of the Year

At Michael Deane's restaurants, the food is straightforward but inspired, just like the man himself.

 "From my earliest days I wanted to set a standard for the best quality and the best value eating out experience possible. Over the years I have come to learn that it is the customers not the critics, who decide if you are a success and that is very humbling. Thankfully our dedication to sourcing the best local produce and demanding the highest standards of cooking and presentation continues to please customers at home, as well as those visiting from abroad, and that is the only secret to our success."


Deanes Restaurant

1 Star Michelin 2018
1 Star Michelin 2017
1 Star Michelin 2016

1 Star Michelin 1997 - 2010
Food & Wine Best Service Award 2009
Food & Wine Ulster Restaurant of the Year 2010
AA Guide Notable Wine List 2010/2011

3 AA Rosettes 1997 - 2005
4 AA Rosettes 2006 - 2010
Restaurant of the Year Jameson Guide 2000
2 Star Jameson Guide to Ireland
Restaurant of the Year Jameson Guide 2000
Best Ulster Restaurant 2007 & 2010
(Food & Wines Magazine Award)
Restaurant of the Year Ireland 2007
(Food & Wines Magazine Award)
Restaurant of The Year 2007 
(Georgina Campbell's Ireland Guide)

Michael Deane

Shortlisted for The Cateys UK Restaurateur of the Year 2017
Food & Wine Hall of Fame 2009
UK Restaurant Chef of the Year Craft Guild of Chefs 2002

Chef of the Year Jameson Guide 2001
Northern Ireland Chef of the Year IFEX 1993

Culinary Team

NIFEX Chef of the Year 2010
Gordon Ramsay Scholar Winner 2003
British Grand Prix Champions 2000 & 2002